Bago is located near the main city Yangon. One should visit Bago to explore local life and their interesting cottages, Buddhism, history of Myanmar and amazing local customs and believe.
Key Attractionssee the surroundings
Shwetharlyaung Pagoda is a reclining Buddha in the west side of Bago (Pegu), Burma (Myanmar). The Buddha, which has a length of 55 m (180 ft) and a height of 16 m (52 ft), is the second largest Buddha in the world, after the 74 m reclining Buddha in Dawei (Tavoy). The Buddha is believed to have been built in 994, during the reign of Mon King Migadepa. It was lost in 1757 when Bago (Pegu) was pillaged.
Shwemawdaw Pagoda often referred to as the Golden God Temple. At 375 feet in height, the Shwemawdaw holds the record for the tallest pagoda in the country although the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon is usually credited as the tallest pagoda in Myanmar (at 98 meters – approximately 321.5 ft). Shwemawdaw pagoda, Shwedagon Pagoda and Kyaik Htee Yoe Pagoda are three famous Mon Pagodas. Shwemawdaw Pagoda annual festival take place during the Burmese month of Tagu.
Kyaik Pun Pagoda
Kyaik Pun Pagoda in Mon Kyaik (Buddha) and Pon (Four). Kyaik Pun Pagoda is the home to the Four Seated Buddha shrine, a 90 ft (27 m) statue depicting the four Buddha namely Kakkusana, Konagamana, Kassapa, and Gotama seated in four positions, sitting back to back to four directions. The Four Seated Buddha was built by King Migadepa of Bago in the 7th Century AD (tradition) and renovated by King Dhammaceti in the 15th century AD. Kanbawzathadi Palace built for King Bayinnaung in 1556, consisted of 76 apartments and halls. It was burned down in 1599. It was reconstructed in 1990 and finished in 1992.
Kya Khat Wai
Kya Khat Wai monastery which is one of the three large monastery in Myanmar. This monastery is famous known for being a premier school of Buddhism, undergraduate, master and doctor of Dhamma sermon.
Kanbawzathadi Palace is in Bago, was built by King Bayinnaung in 1556. It was burned down in 1599 but it war reconstructed in 1990 and finished in 1992. The first Hantharwaddy was shifted to new place and the king rebuilt the new palace to the south of the Shwemawdaw Pagoda and named Kanbawzathardi in 1556. It is one of the most attractions in Bago. It has brick foundations and plinths of the old palace, many teak pillars some with inscriptions and 1800 lime-stone Buddha images. The ruins of city wall with 20 gates are still in existence. Great Audience Hall (the Lion Throne Room) and Bee Throne Hall were reconstructed.